Tilt and trim

• Derrick Cox
    MN, Eagan

This may sound stupid but i am new to the boating world. I was just wondering is trim and tilt the same? If its not what is the difference?

david_scott
    Twin Cities

yes and no… trim adjust the motor angle as you are motoring, adjusting the trim can give much better performance + speed at higher throttle settings, or a better whole shot when taking off.

Tilt I believe pretty much refers to tilting the lower unit up to higher positions than what would be used in a motoring situation?

muskyman
    Arkansaw, Wisconsin

From what I know, they basically are the same thing. Someone can correct me if I am wrong but trim is when your motor is the lowest it can possibly go. You want your motor “trimmed” all the way down on your hole shot and raise it after you get on plane to improve the performance of your motor. And “tilt” is when you raise your motor up to the top of your trim it will raise at a faster rate, that top part is your tilt. Oops had to put the kids to bed….What he said

garvi
    LACROSSE WI

Does anyone have a idea of price diff. to go from a manual tilt to a power trim on a NEW 40hp 4stroke tiller?

bailey99

No!
    They are two completely different functions operated on the same hydraulic motor.

The “tilt” is the motor drive to actually tilt the motor up/down via hydraulics. The actual “tilt” power is not very strong and would not be able to “lift” a motor under full power load at any hi-speeds.

“Trim” is a different section of your “tilt/trim”. The trim is generally two hydraulic rams (silver looking bars) protruding on the engine mount by the transom. These two rams have the “power” and are able to push (tilt) the motor up under hi-speeds.