My view on my Tahoe…………………………

• 2catch1

Well I have been a GM tech now since 1998. In July of 2003 I bought a used 1995 Chevy Tahoe. I choose the ’95 because it had TBI fuel injection and is very reliable compared to the 96-99 tahoes with Vortecs. They are also easy to work on in comparison. Anyhow here is my story and why my next truck will most likely be a Toyota. Again. I bought this truck with 76k on it. It drove nice and I loved the room, but in no time it started to burn a little oil. Normal for a 350 to burn a little. Well at 100k we were up to 6qts in 3k miles. The valves seals were ok, it needed an engine. Cylinder 5 was down. So $2500 dollars later I had a new Goodwrench motor with some additional stuff that ya do when the motors out. Then the converter went because it burned so much oil it wrecked the cat. So here I am at about 120k. I change all my fluids at least once a year…all of them. I just put all new brake and fuel lines on and put in a new fuel pump, which went bad in 2 weeks so it got another (typical pos mexico Gm part) So after $600 plus in parts(my cost on parts is 10% over gm cost at the dealer and lucky for me my labor is free!!!)she has all new fuel and brake lines….something that worried me a lot! Rusty lines, new boat, big hill….STOP! Anyhow so now this last week while backing up to my snowmobile trailer I lost reverse. Well lucky me! God I am so sick of working on this thing!!! So I pulled the trans and had it rebuilt 2x’s stronger than GM did. Like they should have from the start. $950 later. While I was under the truck I noticed once again leaky oil cooler lines!!!! This was the 3rd set now it needs its 4th!!! Well its CarQuest for these, GM can stick it!!! They won’t warranty it, has over 12k on them!!! Anyhow how many others out there have this luck with there vehicles??? I see a lot of bad cars and trucks at work, but I also see a lot of descent ones. I’ve had a few Toyota trucks in the past with close to 200k and never had any e