Sturgeon Excursion Ettiquette

• folke2000

I am a newbie heading up to the 2010 Sturgeon Excursion, and have reserved a cabin at Adrians for the weekend. After watching videos and looking at pictures of past excursions, I have a couple of questions:

1. What is the acceptable distance away from other boats? (It appears that boats stack in pretty tight, but I don’t want to tick anyone off)

2. What do you look for on your electronics to help decide where to drop anchor, holes or humps?

3. Any other tips to be a courteous angler who is new to the Sturgeon Excursion?

Because of what I have read on this forum, I already have my no roll sinkers, 3/0 circle hooks, and 2 anchors. Anything else anyone would suggest would be great.

Thanks,
    Folke

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

A big net, to keep the fish in the water as long as possible.

I always ask, is it OK to fish this close. It seems the anchor never bites quite like you’d want and at times you can end up closer than intended.

It’s pretty laid back fishing compared to Pool 4 in the spring. I enjoy the part of being able to anchor close to friends and rib each other. Makes the day go fast if the bite happens to be off a bit.

Be sure you stay on the MN side of the river or risk getting a ticket.

Pray for the ice to melt fast to open lots of river so we can spread out a bit.

larry_haugh
    MN

Any variances on your electronics you can find is a good start. Its pretty featureless, and the fish are pretty much every where.

You will see how close others are fishing together and you can take a cue from them. One thing thing worth mentioning, IF you see someone with a really big fish on and its heading toward your stuff, if possible try to help them and yourself out by pulling lines out of the way and sometimes anchors.