Bow questions from the total noob.

• TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

OK, just got my eldest son a bow for his birthday. He’ll turn 7 this week.

Matthews Genesis, thanks to another IDO member.

So, now the questions. Keeping in mind, I’ve never even drawn a compound bow and the last arrow I shot was, well, let’s say it wasn’t quite the 1980s yet…

Sooooo.

– We’re going to need some arrows. It would be cruel to give a kid a bow, with no arrows. So, what length? I see most places list “youth” arrows as something around 26-28 inches. Is this right?

– Arrow type. Carbon? Aluminum? Keep in mind, this is strictly for 7 year old’s target practice, so I would think durability trumps other concerns.

– Is the nock size, where it slips over the string, universal? Or is a youth bow’s nock size smaller?

– Nock point. When the arrow is on the bow, is the nock point above or below the nock of the arrow?

– Odd colored fletching. At Boy Scout camp in 1979 the taught us that this faces to the left for a right hand shooter. Is this right? At archery lessons they taught the kids that the odd feather is straight up, but looking at arrows today, that would not work with the way they are set up.

You know, this looks kind of fun. Mrs. Grouse and I had it out tonight after the kids were in bed. We were just seeing if it worked, you know, to avoid disappointment…

But it is really fun.

Grouse

Pete S

Arrows – I would think something in the 24-26″ would be more than enough. aluminum is going to be cheaper but the nice thing with carbon (in most cases) they’re either broke or their fine, aluminums can bend. if he is going to be shooting in an area where he could lose arrows I would go aluminum.

the nock size is usually dependent on the arrow will accommodate most strings. If using a single nock, my experience is the arrow sits under the nock when it’s on the string.

On my daughters genesis we shoot the odd feather facing out to minimize contact with the rest/brace.