Bobber vs Dead stick

• Red Eye

Ok guys I keep reading more and more about deadsticks for walleyes. Question is what it the advantage of a dead stick over using a bobber? With a bobber you can at least open the bail and let the fish run. That way when we are staring at the vexilar working another fish the dead stick doesn’t go down the hole. Thoughts?

Joe Scegura
    Alexandria MN

Agreed! I don’t get it either. Bobbers for this guy. I’m not spending a $100 on a rod when a bobber can do a better job. Each to their own though.

That said I will gladly pay top dollar for my jigging rods!

crappie55369
    Mound, MN

Im no expert but a few things to consider:

I think with a bobber the argument is the fish can feel that resistance and will drop the bait. another thing is they make reels like that okuma reel where there is a mechanism that allows the fish to run with the bait and the reel allows for that to happen. im just learning about it myself so I probably sound like an idiot describing it but it was featured on an IDO episode as while back and was just talked about on a forum post.

I’ve never told anyone, but my father was pretty much a ninja using a bobber set.

That said, I’ve seen instances where a dangling minnow will consistently out perform a bobber set and vice versa, even running the same lure/bait. Also, the hookset is totally different, so depending on how the fish are acting, one method can out-perform the other. I use both techniques, but my go-to is a noodle type glass deadstick on a rod rocker. I find the combo is the ticket. The good thing is, we have all sorts of options. Hyper trimmed bobbers to dead sticking a W7 glow jigging rap. Hard to do that with a bobber!

404 ERROR
    MN

I think with a bobber the argument is the fish can feel that resistance and will drop the bait.