Lake Onalaska???

• Boone04
    Fountain city, WI

I’m a newbie to the Lake Onalaska area, just moved to galesville and am looking for a little help catching a bass or two. The questions I have is can I run around with out the worry of hitting anything major? I know the first few times I will be ideling around keeping an eye on the depth finder. The other question is what/where should I start looking for a large mouth. Any help would be greatly apprecated.

blue-fleck
    Dresbach, MN

If you stay on the east side you should do fine. Most of the west side is weeded up pretty good.

As for finding fish, start on a weed edge and follow it, keeping a close eye on your electronics.

Jeremiah Shaver
    La Crosse, WI

I say this having lived on Lake Onalaska for 21 years, but you can basically run anywhere you want. The major concerns are out towards the drains (north of Red Oak).

Where to look? find a weed stretch and go to town.

bret_clark
    Sparta, WI

Just a heads up….The DNR has been waiting at Schaffers landing to hand out tickets for any weeds not removed from your rigs.

blue-fleck
    Dresbach, MN

Quote:

I say this having lived on Lake Onalaska for 21 years, but you can basically run anywhere you want.

Run where you want eh…? Sure, if you don’t mind plugging an intake or cutting weeds off your prop every 50yds.

Sure, there are places to run to, but that’s painting with an awfully big brush.

And that comes from over 25yrs experience on the lake.

Boone04
    Fountain city, WI

I guess what I will be doing for the first few trips will be in idol and watching the graph.

kinny

In the main lake from Schaffers to the man made islands and all the way south to the rock wall I dont know of any problems in there (I consider problems to be stumps, rocks and very shallow water, not weeds). If anyone knows of any please let us all know!