Babies and leadcore

• Nate Northup
    Madison, WI area

Hey all, been a while – This was a good winter to have crappy ice, because we welcomed our second son, Owen, into our family back in January, so lots of baby duty (doodies too). BUT, we did get both boys out briefly one warmer afternoon, so now both of them can grow up and say they’ve been ice fishing since they were 2 weeks old ;)

Anyway, now that the weather is warming, I’m looking to get out and do some trolling as time permits. We live pretty close to Lake Wisconsin/WI River, but am also looking to get on some bigger water this year like Winnebago, Green Bay, and the like. I picked up two new Okuma combos on sale at Fleet Farm (7′ classic trolling/magda 20d) that I’m aiming to rig with leadcore – a spool of the suffix 832 10-color, some fluoro for leader, and nylon backing. I’m totally new to leadcore, so figured I’d ask here with a few questions;

-What are your preferred knots for backing-to-leadcore and leadcore-to-fluoro?
    -I was planning to spool each reel with 5 colors, to be able to get down to about 25′ with each rod. Is that ideal, or is it better to have all 10 on one reel (these will be mostly for targeting walleye/sauger)
    -when trolling, say I wanted to get down to 25′ with 5 colors out – does that reference the entire length of leadcore starting roughly at the surface of the water, or from reel, or rod tip?
    -My other trolling rods I run boards on (church walleye boards) and previously have had a heck of a time getting them to grip onto the 20# braid I run – I like the idea of the boards “tripping” with strikes, so you can bring em in faster, but am considering switching to the locking side of the release so I don’t always have to reset the boards when the line slips out. Thoughts/suggestions?

Any other considerations to think about?

As always, thanks for sharing advice and this community in general. Have a good one,
    Nate

Attachments:
    1. IMG_6311.jpg

2. IMG_6336.jpg