Lead core trolling and depth variance

• carver
    West Metro

To clarify one thing….im a rookie lead core troller.

So here is the data. Suffix 832 with scatter raps #7 trolling at 2mph and little slower and faster depending on the wind gusts. Depths range from 30ft to 24ft. Leader is about 6ft.

I was going by the data from the challenge on LOW at per color you get 7ft down, so 2 colors would be around 60 on the counter and 14 ft down.

On one clicker i had 90 out 3 colors and getting to the depth of 21 i thought. The other counter i had 4 colors out which should have gotten me to 28 ft roughly.

I was running some big breaks so one side of the boat was slightly shallower running up and down.

However during multiple times, i ran up on a 24ft flat and the deeper line did not hit bottom like i thought it would. To me the calculation so wrong and I’m really getting the standard 5 ft drop of lead core. I did leave out more line to adjust.

Another situation i had was, fishing a weed line, needed to get TD5 down to 12-15. I was leaving out 32-36 on the clicker, which was a color and a bit more if i remember right. Speed was 2mph and i know when i get 9-10ft i had weeds. So i had the dive depth about right there with 2 ft for the lure/leader.

Just trying to understand it better and what other variable I’m missing here, i calculate about 2 feet for any lure unless its a big shad rap or something that might give me more than 2 extra feet.

flanders51

I don’t have experience with Suffix leadcore. Your analysis does sound correct. I use colors as a starting point and then watch for constant bounces on the rod tip which tells me I am on the bottom. I adjust from there and keep track of the number of feet on the clicker. Not perfect but it works. catching a sauger or two doesn’t hurt with dialing it in.

mojogunter