Just finished my tip down

• foxman79
    Anoka, MN

I’ve never used a tip down before, but after watching the recent video and reading posts from fellow IDO’ers, I thought I would give it a try.
    Let me know what you think, especially if you can foresee any problems when I actually put it to use.
    The reason I choose PVC was so that the tip down would double as the rod case (look at 2nd pic).
    I spent a total of $16 for the materials at Menards, plus the $10 pole, but I have enough material to build at least one more.
    (The last time I was this excited about building something out of PVC it involved potatoes and hairspray)
    Now I really can’t wait for the ice to come.

Joel Nelson
    Southeast MN

Quote:

I’ve never used a tip down before, but after watching the recent video and reading posts from fellow IDO’ers, I thought I would give it a try.
    Let me know what you think, especially if you can foresee any problems when I actually put it to use.
    The reason I choose PVC was so that the tip down would double as the rod case (look at 2nd pic).
    I spent a total of $16 for the materials at Menards, plus the $10 pole, but I have enough material to build at least one more.
    (The last time I was this excited about building something out of PVC it involved potatoes and hairspray)
    Now I really can’t wait for the ice to come.

Necessity is the mother of all invention. Very nice work! Might want to spraypaint them, or keep them white and keep the locals guessing. I like the way they fold and double as a holder. Looks like you could carry a pile of them with you quite easily.

Joel

Pat Howard
    Sparta Wi

Very nicely done

stretchout
    Menomonie, WI

No reason that won’t work. There’s plenty of variations of PVC designs being used.