Crappie fishing techniques and lure for late summer

• renegadewalleye

I am trying to catch some crappies around this time of the year. I am new to crappie fishing and wondering what type of bait and lure to use also what structure should I target?

brad-o
    Mankato

This time of year they have pulled away from the weeds and will be on the first or second break from the weedline. Use your electronics to find them they will be suspended

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

What are you fishing….river or lake? Makes a lot of difference right now.

renegadewalleye

I am fishing lakes and will they be out side the weeds with some of the blue gills?

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Bluegills will suspend over deep water at times along the outside of breaks and deep, tall-standing weeds but will also play in weeds where bugs are chased and eaten. Storms can chase gills into deep weeds. So will really warm water and high skies.

As mentioned, your crappies will like those primary breaks where they’ll suspend very close to the depth of the break in deeper adjacent water. If you are fishing a body of water with very clear water, crappies might be a low light bite….period. Try very early mornings, or very late in the afternoon/evening.

Thermoclines are something to watch for when crappie fishing. Often times you can find numbers of crappies scattered across the very top edge of a thermocline. If they are tight to the point of temperature transition, they maybe sluggish….those higher up slightly will be more active and will probably hit better.