stugeon hook

• jason26
    Cedar Falls, IA

What type and size hook do you guys use for sturgeon fishing. Thanks for aany help you can give.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

I’ve been using a 3/0 Team Catfish Double Action Hook for several years now Jason.

They can be “set” like a regular J hook or just swept back like a circle hook.

Strong enough to land a 65″, 69 pound Lake Sturgeon.

There are other hooks out there as well and some folks like the bigger 5/0 and 6/0 hooks. I haven’t tried larger because I haven’t found a reason too.

Have fun dancing with the sturgeon this spring!

sauger
    Hastings ,MN

3/0 to 5/0 circles for me.

dfresh
    Fridley, MN

Quote:

I’ve been using a 3/0 Team Catfish Double Action Hook for several years now Jason.

They can be “set” like a regular J hook or just swept back like a circle hook.

Strong enough to land a 65″, 69 pound Lake Sturgeon.

I like these a lot as well. All I have used the past few seasons on the St. Croix.

692fisherman
    champlin mn

3/0 offset circle hooks …gamagatsu or how ever you spell it!

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

Quote:

X2. Usually Gamakatsu offset circles.

Aaron

Quote:

x2- I’m a big fan of circles

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

I also only use circles.

Bigger baits like 5″ or bigger shad i use 8/0 but really became a fan of smaller hooks this past year and even downsizing baits a little too to make them easier for sturgeon to pick up.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

One word of caution. I started off using 2/0 Gama circles.

A female client of mine lost a fish because the hook straitened out. I don’t think she knew what she had on but I did. She never had a chance to fight it. It just took off and a few seconds later…bent hook and no fish.

I’ll never use anything smaller then 3/0 again and then only if I trust the hook.

sauger
    Hastings ,MN

Set that drag guide boy!

Blamin it on a girl…….

timmy