wax

• castertroy

When waxing the boat, should I do the bottom too?

biggill
    East Bethel, MN

Funny, BK had the same question when waxing his legs.

dewarsh2o
    Northfield, MN

I have always heard the answer to that is “no”, which seems counter intuitive.

Denny O
    Central IOWA

BK would love for you to wax his,,,,,
    OK back to subject.
    I wish I could thouroly clean and wax the bottom of my Lund boat!

My answer would have to be “Yes” and why not to reduce drag and the rest of the odvious bennifits?

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Wax this…

I’ve never hear that a boat bottom shouldn’t be waxed…although I can seldom get the fw under there.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Best answer I could find. FW lucked out again….

Quote:

I would not wax the pad. Let me qualify this in that I have no data to back this up, but I am an engineer with some fluid dynamics background. Here is why I say not to wax the pad. When fluid flows over the surface at relatively low speeds, (speeds that a typical boat would run are relatively low compared to many other applications such as air over a jetliner wing), it flows in what is called a laminar flow pattern. Essentially it flows smoothly and evenly over the surface. This smooth flow has a particular drag coefficient. When the flow reaches a high enough speed the flow pattern changes to what is known as turbulent flow. Under turbulent flow conditions the drag coefficient is significantly reduced as compared to the drag coefficient under laminar flow conditions. Here is where waxing comes in: Turbulence at the surface/fluid interface can be induced at lower velocities by roughness of the surface. In other words, a smooth surface would facilitate a smoother flow pattern and thus higher drag than a rough surface. As JB mentioned one of the best practical examples of this effect is golf balls. The first solid golf balls were smooth with no d