minimum snowmobile requirements

• Michael Burcusa
    Saint Louis Park

Hello Everyone,

In the next year or so, I am hoping to be able to purchase a snowmobile that will be used for ice fishing only. I am not looking for anything fancy, but I do need reliability as I don’t want to be stuck 10 miles out on a lake without cellphone coverage and not able to get the damn thing started.

So with those requirements, what sort of sleds should I be looking at (I am a complete novice). What would you say is the typical price range that I should be shooting for.

Thanks in advance,
    Mike Burcusa

Phil Bauerly
    Walker, MN - Leech Lake

I run two ’98 Ski Doo Tourings and have yet to have a break down. Both are fan cooled which is the way to go when there isn’t much snow on the ice as the machine will still cool itself. I have one 500cc and one 380cc and I actually prefer the 380 as most lake and trail travel is done at ~25 mph, even less with gear in tow. A lighter sled is a blessing too when the snow is deep or you need to load/unload by yourself.

When buying a used sled, make sure the compression in both cylinders are within range and have a shop do a pre season check every year. Believe me, they will find things to replace/ improve. If you are patient you should be able to find a low miles, clean sled that may just have been used a handful of times per year.

dbright
    Cambridge

What is your budget? Older 2 up sleds work great for fishing.

icenutz
    Aniwa, WI

The older Ski Doo Tourings (2 up) make great icefishing sleds, very dependable and should be in the $1K to $1500 range. As said check compression and try to find one that has under 2000 miles or has been rebuilt. Most should have a top end rebuild at roughly 4000-5000 miles.

rvrrunner