Lew's for a young fella

• beardly
    Hastings, Mn

I bought my 4 year old son a 5’10” ML extra fast limit creek smoothie. He needed an upgrade from his closed face reel as his fishing has progressed and I want my St. Croix back…. . Anyways he has requested a green reel for it and the only one I can find is a Lew”s Mach Speed spinning reel. Anyone have any experience with these. Is the size 100 pretty small, like geared for ice fishing? I don’t want to put a giant real on there either so how about the 200 size?

https://www.scheels.com/p/lews-mach-speed-spin-reel/84900401767.html

Anyways he has requested a green reel for it and the only one I can find is a Lew”s Mach Speed spinning reel.

Here’s another option maybe, similar price, green accents. I have a friend who recommends Piscifun reels as a good value.

Attachments:
    1. Screenshot_20190807-105502_Samsung-Internet.jpg

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I have no experience with the picsifun spinning reels but the casting are terrible.
    I do have a few lews products and really dont mind the reels. They are good bargain for your buck. The 200 is like a shimano 2500. The 100 is similar to the 1000 if I remember off the top of my head

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

Tell him girls coordinate colors… Boys buy what works.

tangler
    Inactive

The kid is 4. If a green reel gets him excited, go for it.

beardly
    Hastings, Mn

<div class=”d4p-bbt-quote-title”>FishBlood&RiverMud wrote:</div>

It took me forever to even get him to use anything other than “his” closed face pole which was a terrible setup but he liked it. If he wants a green reel to make it his, that is what he’ll get. He LOVES to fish and letting him pick the stuff out is fun and gives him somethung to call his own. I don’t want to give him crappy stuff… who knows maybe dad will borrow it….

Thanks for the suggestions! I think I’ll go with the size 100 unless someone chimes in with a poor review.

Jon Jordan
    Keymaster
    St. Paul, Mn