Canadian Bacon

• Bob Schultz
    Wausau,Wi

Anybody have any recipes? Looking to try some here shortly. Attached is one I found.

Attachments:
    1. 995F05E7-99A1-4FDF-A2FD-EDE8B1156C2D.jpeg

Scott Gergen
    Hastings, MN

Very similar to the process and recipe I found on smokingmeatforum.com by a poster “bearcarver”.

I’ve used this a couple times and it turns out just excellent!

Scott

Bob Schultz
    Wausau,Wi

Great! I’ll give it a try. I was surprised he only takes it to 140 internal, but I’m just getting started trying things like this.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Canadian Bacon is an easy meat and super tasty. I make mine in basically the same fashion as the shown recipe except I roll my loin chunks in cheese cloth, maybe five or six single layer wraps, and then give the cheese cloth a light spray of water right before smoking. The cheese cloth stays on until I slice the finished meat. The cheese cloth helps form the meat….which is absolutely not an essential, just cosmetic…. and it helps catch some of the tar from smoking that can be acrid or bitter if left directly on the meat.

At 140 degrees one still has to cook or fry the bacon as it is not what is called fully cooked. I do my sausage containing pork to at least 152 degrees, some suggest even higher at 160 or 165. My bacon isn’t dry at 152 but I have seen it get dry by going to the 165 and nobody wants dry Canadian Bacon. The 140 degree mark is where I aim for the Canadian Bacon as I always fry it to finish it and never eat it right out of the freezer package. Commercial product is usually labeled as fully cooked and can be eaten from the package.

gunsmith89
    eyota, mn

The temperature was dropped on pork to 145 for USDA guidelines however I still have not dropped to that temperature.

Bob Schultz
    Wausau,Wi

So if we were going to slice to put on pizza, for instance, go to 152? Or does baking the pizza put it into the safe range?

Bob Schultz
    Wausau,Wi