Work boots

• Josh

Just looking for some new work boots, have had 2 pairs of Danner vicious boots. Have not been very good at keeping them oiled but have gotten about 1.5-2 years out of each pair. But the pair I currently have is at the end of there life. During the summers they get probably get 4-6 miles a day of walking in dirt and muddy fields. So looking for new water proof work boot, have had Rocky’s and Carolina and lucky to get a year out them.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I buy red wings. Never even once have I thought about regretting it.

Work boots are 2408s I believe. 8 inch lace up steel toe.

My at home boots are 3505s. 10 inch tall pull on steel toe. I’ve been buying the exact same 2 pairs of boots for 13 or 14 years.
    I did not like danners, Carolina, cat, and a few other brands.
    If you go the red wing option they offer free laces and oiling for the life of the boot. But make sure you read where they are made, they now have half the models made in China and all of the Irish setters made in China. Make sure you get the red wing made ones. Big difference.
    I’m in my boots 10 to 15 hours a day and come home and put on the at home boots after words.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Both the 2408s and the 3505s come in water resistant or gortex. I cant run gortex they will get to warm and my work boots start to smell terrible.
    The water resistant stay dry all day and I cut concrete all day in wet sloppy conditions.

tim hurley

Not aware of your situation but I have heard that leather needs to breath, a foot sweats a lot in a day and that moisture comming from the inside can damage a shoe or boot more than the treated outside. If you can afford to, have two pair and alternate. People on this site really know gear, sure you will get great advice on brands.

Deuces

Tried Thorogoods last year from Fleet farm. Never had such feet problems in my life. Awful. Tried different inserts with no luck. Second I got rid of em my pain went away.