Uploading Insight Genesis social map to my chartplotter

• Brian Robinson
    central Neb

I’m at the end of my rope here. I’ve been using my HDS 8 and 7 to map lakes for a couple years now, love doing it. Love adding to the social map, it’s a nice tool. But now I’m trying to get the social map onto my chartplotter, and no matter what I do, it will not work. I have downloaded the social map onto my laptop, then extracted the files to the SD card. I have loaded the map onto the SD card, then extracted. Nothing works. I put the card in the unit, it says loading charts, but when I go to my map options, nothing is available. In the picture, you can see all I have available are Navionics and Lowrance charts. My unit is registered on gofreemarine. Do I have to rename the files for them to show up? What am I doing wrong? Am I not going to the right place to bring em up? I know it’s gotta be something simple I haven’t got figured out yet. Any instructions would be great. My buddy is having no problem with his HDS 7 touch Gen 2, but my HDS8 Gen 2 will do nothing for me. Maps sure would be helpful. Thanks

Attachments:
    1. lowrance-files.png

2. lowrance.png

whytie
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

I had issues with my elite. Turned out the serial I used from the box didn’t match what was listed in my plotter. I fixed this by going to my account and updating the serial number. Also make sure you have the most up to date version loaded on your plotter I know a few guys who had issues in the past by not updating their units. And I’m sure you already know to insert the card before turning on the unit.

Brian Robinson
    central Neb

I will make sure of those things. I know I’m updated, but I’ll check the serial and all that just to make sure. Surely it’ll be something else, but it’d be great if it were something that easy.

Brian Robinson
    central Neb

Ok, checked the serial and other ID numbers, they are legit.