Trolling Muskys

• Gilgetter

Thinking about dabbling into trolling for some muskys this open water season. What rod/reel setups are people using? Thanks

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

I think it depends on what you want to drag around. Bucktail, Cowgirl, Dbl. Cowgirl, Headlocks ect. Also how fast you want to go while doing it. IMO the reel matters more than the rod. You could probably get away with a 7′ heavy for all of those for the occasional trip. If you want to become a trolling fanatic then you may use multiple rods.

I’m not a expert thats just my opinion. Pat McSherry would be able to steer you better but he’s kinda busy this time of year.

rod-man
    Pine City, MN.

I’ve got a couple of rigs for sale PM me if your interested

Michael C. Winther
    Reedsburg, WI

For “dabbling” you can definitely get into quality gear that will handle most lures you want to pull without breaking the bank.

A Shimano TDR 9′ Heavy two-piece will serve exceptionally well.
    TDR90H2PC is usually in the $35 range.

A Daiwa Sealine linecounter in the 47 size has good drag, loud clicker, and option of either paddle grip or power handle. Also available in a left-hand crank version.
    SG47LC3B is usually in the $100 range.

Add a fin-friendly net and a pair of bolt cutters to your boat, and you’re on your way!

catmando
    wis