Transom saver

• Don Dunworth
    Participant

Looking for a saver for my Lund rebel with a 50 hp. Lund trailer has lights on crossbar where you put the TS. Any suggestions for one where I wudnt have to
    Mess with the lights? Thanks

gimruis
    Participant
    Plymouth, MN

You could try a hydraulic wedge instead. Its what I use on my Merc 75 4-stroke outboard. I don’t know what kind of outboard you have.

John Rasmussen
    Participant
    Blaine

With that small of a motor I think you would be a good candidate for the Wedge.

Netguy
    Participant
    Minnetonka

I used the one in mark’s post on an F100 Yamaha for 20 years. I was going to replace the rubber “V” but traded the boat in. Worked fine. On the new tiller boat with a 90 hp I’m using a M-Y Wedge.

404 ERROR
    Participant
    MN

Can someone please school me on the wedges many people use. I’m not a doctor or mechanic but how does that protect the transom when it provides no additional support to anything but the motor hydraulics? Am I completely wrong in this thought? Seems to me (again, not a doctor or mechanic) that the only beneficial “transom saver” is one that mounts to the trailer frame to relieve the weight of the motor on the transom during travel.

xplorer
    Participant
    Cloquet, MN

I’ve used the one Mark shows above on my last 3 boats, has worked great on a 30hp tiller/90 remote and a 175.
    Well, except for that time that I took it off and set it down next to the ramp and left it there when I went out. Long gone when I got back to the ramp. Ooops.

gimruis
    Participant
    Plymouth, MN

Can someone please school me on the wedges many people use. I’m not a doctor or mechanic but how does that protect the transom when it provides no additional support to anything but the motor hydraulics? Am I completely wrong in this thought?