Trail Cam Mount – Make your own adjustable trail cam mount.

• TheFamousGrouse
    Participant
    St. Paul, MN

I wanted to share an easy-to-make, adjustable trail cam mount that you can build in your own shop for just a few dollars per mount. This mount uses a threaded eye bolt, so they can be screwed into a tree without the use of other tools.

Using straps to mount trail cams is a fools errand in my view. You can never get the camera pointed just right without jamming sticks under the cam and the whole process wastes time. This mount allows you to quickly mount a camera on any tree or branch and then to adjust it to the perfect angle.

I’ve been making these mounts for a couple of years now and they really work well. They are easy to install on a tree, steady, and they allow you to easily aim the camera in multiple directions. For the price of few dollars for a bag full of hardware store parts, it’s easy to make enough of these for a whole fleet of trail cams.

This mount threads into the standard 1/4 threaded shoe mount that is present on most trail cams.

Parts list:

To make one cam mount, you need:

5 inch x 1/4 inch eye screw
    5 inch x 1/4 inch eye bolt
    1 1/2 inch x 1/2 inch bolt
    3 flat washers to fit above 1/2 inch bolt
    1/2 inch nylon lock nut
    1/4 inch wing nut

Here’s a picture of the finished product before paint, just to give you an idea of the end result. I always give mine just a quick blast of dull camo paint so they blend in and don’t give away the camera with a glint of light off of the shiny steel.

Step-by-step to follow.

Attachments:
    1. 20160924_164025.jpg

TheFamousGrouse
    Participant
    St. Paul, MN

Step 1: Start by placing one of the washers on the 1 1/2 inch x 1/2 inch bolt and then padding it through the eye on the 5 inch x 1/4 inch eye bolt. It’s the eye bolt that will be screwed into the tree.

Step 2: Next place another washer on the bolt.