Tips for a first timer for ice fishing

• Ntau Yang
    Participant

Hi everyone I’m new to this ice fishing thing and bought some rapala slab raps in all sizes and jigs but don’t know how or what techniques to work these. If there is anyone who’s willing to help and give tips that’ll be great cause my sons are wanting to go this year but we are new to this. They want to go for walleye.

Attachments:
    1. 1EA308AA-8076-4E05-87DF-3AC155C0A108.jpeg

Bearcat89
    Participant
    North branch, mn

Have to find aggressive fish. Make sure you have a few minnows along as well.
    And my other tip is don’t step in a ice hole toast

John Rasmussen
    Participant
    Blaine

Agree with BC, I still have yet to catch anything on one of those, but admit I don’t pull them out enough. Stick with jigging spoons with a minnow head on it and set up a bobber line in the second hole for everyone if there is room. I run a mix of chartreuse, pink and red hooks on my bobber lines.

Rodwork
    Participant
    Farmington, MN

You will want to pick up some kind of graph or flasher if you are going to be working slab raps. You can find used ones for not a ton of money. They also make ice fishing more enjoyable. You are going to have to see your bait and how the fish is reaction to it. Then it is a game of cat and mouse. Keep working the bait away and let them chase. This is a great activity to get into as a family. Ice fishing in MN you are allowed 2 lines. You should have a dead stick with a minnow and hook down when using a slab rap. The slab rap may call the fish in and the minnow can seal the deal.

Alex Fox
    Participant

Ntau,

First and foremost, where do you intend to fish? What fish are you targeting? What supplies do you have so far?

If you’re hole hopping and fishing for aggressive walleyes, those baits are a great choice, but not for crappies. Let us know what your ideal fishing day is, then everyone on here can point you in a much clearer direction.