Tagged Smallie

• Craig Sery
    Participant
    Bloomington, MN

Was up fishing yesterday and caught a solid 19.75 smallie with a tag. About 4 hours later and a couple hundred yards away I caught another tagged fish. Measured it at 19.75, same tag number!!! I registered it online, what kind of info do they give you? Never caught a tagged fish

biggill
    Participant
    East Bethel, MN

They typically give the entire recorded history on the fish. Sometimes the only record is the fish being tagged but sometimes you catch a fish that’s been caught several times. Can be interesting to see it’s growth and where/when it was caught previously.

gimruis
    Participant
    Plymouth, MN

They typically give the entire recorded history on the fish. Sometimes the only record is the fish being tagged but sometimes you catch a fish that’s been caught several times. Can be interesting to see it’s growth and where/when it was caught previously.

X2 I was an intern for the DNR in 2005 tagging walleyes. I bet an almost 20 inch smallmouth is a decade old.

Craig Sery
    Participant
    Bloomington, MN

I’ll post an update when I hear back from DNR, always been curious how old those fish actually are

gimruis
    Participant
    Plymouth, MN

I’ll post an update when I hear back from DNR, always been curious how old those fish actually are

A Biologist there at the Bassmaster Elite event in 2015 told me in person that a 20 inch/5 pound bass here in MN is approximately 10 years old.

Ripjiggen
    Participant

And I thought bass were hard to catch… rotflol

Craig Sery
    Participant
    Bloomington, MN

Not this time of year if you have training wheels 😂

Netguy
    Participant
    Minnetonka

Rainy Lake several years ago. One of the youngsters, age 18, caught a 20″ smallie. The resort owner said at the bass tourney that year, the Ministry was taking scale samples to age the fish. That size fish was ~20 years old. The fisherman caught a smallie older than he was.

fishthumper