Sturgeon 'THE PERCH'

• FishBlood&RiverMud
    Participant
    Prescott

Sturgeon & “THE PERCH ROD BALANCER”

Dang. Did a little searching. Came across this; looks like someone beat me to the punch designing the “Mr Jigger” for sturgeon application!
    Fudge!

I’ve been noodling a similar design for a few years now. Been going the bungee route to create the balance; monday night i thought i had an epiphany when i said to my self…Use a beefed up MR Jigger style rod holder…Fast forward to yesterday and i’m searching ‘on the line’ for balance rod holders. Ran across someone who already thought it up and is selling them. There goes my retirement plan! Shoot! Well, i’m going to order a few and there’s already something i want to mod on ‘the perch’.

My goal all along with the balancing rod holder is to eliminate rod bounce (Lifting bait off botton) while boat rocks in the waves. Looks like this will do it. I like to set the hook with the rod in the rod holder(i.e. reel down with circle hooks), so i may need to beef this up a little bit – time will tell.

Thought i’d share with the sturgeon nuts on IDO. Stinking California people got them sturgeon all figured out!

http://www.fishwithjd.com/2012/04/22/gear-review-the-perch-fishing-rod-balancer/

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Now if it would only swing left to right opposite the wind blown boat!

St.Croixer…have you seen this yet?

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Participant
    Prescott

Less anchor rope, more bungee Bk=less boat sway. This rod holder won’t help boat sway but should help with boat rocking… When fishing vertical like I do.

biggill
    Participant
    East Bethel, MN

Dammit! I had the same damn idea! Maybe we shoulda partnered up and beat this guy to the punch.

Fisherpaul
    Participant

Either way I want a couple!
    And your bungee anchor set up. that is slick!

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Participant
    Prescott

Details on “The Perch”….