Sta-bil or Sea Foam which one?

• Wayne Daul
    Participant
    Green Bay, Wi

Years ago i was told that Sta-bil had problems with jelling and to use Sea Foam. recently I purchased a new snow blower and the guy in the shop showing me how to use it said do not use Sea Foam as they had blowers and lawn mowers coming in with problems from Sea Foam. Does anyone know the real story of what product is best? Are the marine products a better choice all round?
    Engine experts please set me straight.

Mudshark
    Participant
    LaCrosse WI

I’m no expert by any means but I have been using Stabil for over 25 years with no issues whatsoever in any motor……
    I also use Sea-Foam but for different uses…..no issues also..

FWIW

Bryan Myers

I don’t know if I can set you straight but I’ll tell you what I have found over the years in the marine field. I have seen both of them work well at stabilizing but I have seen some issues. I have cleaned/replaced fuel systems from gelled stabil, normally caused from over treating. Sea foam is alcohol so if you are like me and try to keep alcohol free fuel in your life machines and yard equipment it doesn’t make sense to me to then put it in your fuel. Because it is alchhol based you can end up with problems from it cleaning the fuel system when it’s in the system. The stabalizers I have found that do the best job stabilizing with out causing any other issues have been kerosene based. At our shop for long term storage we use Yamaha fuel conditioner and knock on wood never seen an issue with stale fuel.
    Hope that helps a little.

castle-rock-clown
    Participant