Softshell jackets

• beardly
    Hastings, Mn

I’ve been looking at the Striker Rival jacket but came across the Aftco Reaper. They seem sort of similar. Anyone have experience with them? I’ve been able to look at the Striker but not the Aftco. Curious if the Aftco would be similar in warmth. Overall looking for a warm windproof jacket. I have a older version of the Rival and love it.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I have no experience with either. But in that category it’s going to be tough to beat mountain hardware, or marmot. I have both those and a arteryx that I love all 3 for this time of year. 100 percent gortex and windproof

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

Marmot makes nice stuff. I’d give them a look.

Has anyone tried the Blackfish hooded pullover that’s softshell (Gale softshell)? It pops up on sale regularly for quite a bit less than some others.

Jeffrey Trapp
    Milbank, SD

I have the windproof reaper. It is definitely windproof. I found it to be plenty warm too. I haven’t tried the striker so I can’t compare them. I have quite a bit of AFTCO gear and I have been impressed with all of it.

Mookie Blaylock
    Wright County, MN

The KUIU Guide DCS jacket has been the best money I’ve ever spent.

CBMN
    North Metro

I have both the Gale and Apogee from blackfish and the new stormskin gale. I will admit I get a very nice discount but I have been using the stuff since it came out and I really like it. Replaced my heavy striker coat with a gale and a Milwaukee heated vest underneath. I hated the big bulky striker jacket, but do still use the bibs. I fish the river a fair amount in winter and hated the big bulky jacket and these are much less bulky and plenty warm if you are smart about how you layer. Haven’t tried the Striker Rival yet but it seem similar to the gale but a few years late.

Aboxy17