Smoker

• Nitrodog

Looking at getting at smoker. It will mainly be used for a couple deer a year. What are some recommendations?

smackemup
    North Metro

If you want a really quality smoker, trawlers are very nice. You said you would only be using it a CNC Pyle times a year, Pit Boss makes nice user friendly smokers for a decent price. They are the best bang for your buck

robby
    Quad Cities

How large do you want. I wish I would have bought a bit larger one. Just food for thought. I have an electric Masterbuilt and love it.

Gino
    Grand rapids mn

I Have a Bradley digital, complete garbage. I’d get propane if I get another. Electric smokers IMO are useless in the winter.

gregory
    Red wing,mn

I’m far from and expert but if your using it for smoking sticks and sausage I would say a electric vertical smoker would be your best bet. I would stay away from the ones with the discs for smoke and just get one that looks like a mini fridge that uses wood chips, They work great steady even heat and plenty of smoke.

Justin Laack
    Austin,mn

The answer is gonna be dependent on what you plan on smoking.. A vertical smoker for sure. Just make sure that if you plan on making summer sausage you buy one that is tall enough to handle whatever size casing you are using. I use 2 masterbuilt electric smokers, my buddies all rant and rave about the sticks i make. No problem using in the winter, put it in the unheated garage and crack the overhead door a bit and good to go. The garage smells wonderful for about a week once I’m done.

KPE
    River Falls, WI

I Have a Bradley digital, complete garbage. I’d get propane if I get another. Electric smokers IMO are useless in the winter.

I have a small masterbuilt and it works like a charm, I smoke pork shoulders in sub zero weather with no issues at all. I think because it’s small it has no problem heating up and staying hot.

gary d
    cordova,il

I have an old Masterbuilt also and flat out wore it out. Electric.