Skeeter trailer Light out

• sktrwx2200
    Participant

Buddy was backing down my boat Sunday and from the water I noticed the drivers side brake light was out. Since this is only a year and half old would I be correct in assuming the LED bulbs should still be good? If not how do I check the LEDs?

Any advice on maybe what to look for and where. Hopefully a quick fix.. I’m far from an electrician.

Any tips? Thanks

fishdale
    Participant

You sure it is not the wiring from the vehicle? I have had the same issue and it was the vehicle wiring. I have a little tester that I can plug in to test the wires. If the lights work on the tester I know it is not the vehicle. They are less that 10$ and have saved me a lot of time over the years.

nailswi
    Participant
    Waunakee, WI

I would for sure check the tow vehicle,most if not all newer vehicles have a separate fuse for the trailer wiring.

John Schultz
    Inactive
    Portage, WI

I would check the ground on the tail light. My trailer was having issues with the tail light on one side, and when I took a look the nut that held the ground wire on had loosened up and the wire wasn’t making solid contact. Tightened the nut, problem solved.

smalls
    Participant
    Lake City, MN

Was the truck a GMC? In general I love GM vehicles but we have 3 new ones, 2014s I think, at work and I have a coworker who has a newer one and all of them seem to blow the fuse for the left side trailer light very easily. We think we tracked the cause to a work trailer, but never had the issue with any of our older GMs on the same trailers.

sktrwx2200
    Participant

Its a Ford f 150.

Thanks for the hints guys. Ill dive into it tonight.

sktrwx2200
    Participant

Looks like F42 could be the culprit.

Attachments:
    1. fuse.jpg

Steve Root
    Participant
    South St. Paul, MN