Shotgun for Goose Hunting?

• buckybadger
    Participant
    Upper Midwest

I’ve got a nephew and god child who is itching to get into the outdoors more. His dad isn’t an outdoors person at all. He had a rough time with a football injury (torn ACL and MCL as an 8th grader) and the recovery process hasn’t been kind to him with some nerve damage that may jeopardize any future sports. I want him to have something else to look forward to that he can spend time on. I’m far from an expert goose hunter but dabble a bit as literally hundreds are flying over our house daily and we have luck without a ton of effort. He sat out with me a few nights ago and had the time of his life in a layout blind watching me poke a few.

What is a good shotgun to purchase to get him started? He’s 14 and the size of an adult (6′, 180). Cheap/Affordable is key as he’s a kid, and I would prefer a semiauto. No, a $1200 shotgun isn’t cheap in my book for the limited use in this scenario. $500-800 would be ideal. No, I don’t really care if the fit and finish isn’t pristine and that of a $2k shotgun. No, he won’t use it for much else (maybe just some trap shooting) as he will borrow a rifle from me for deer hunting if he wants to try that also.

Thank you for the suggestions

John Rasmussen
    Participant
    Blaine

Franchi has some decently priced semi’s that would work, a little more than you mentioned spending though. Otherwise why not get him a Benelli Nova pump. It is what I have used most of my duck/goose hunting time, super accurate right out of the box and very reliable.

Bearcat89
    Participant
    North branch, mn

Skip the semi and get him a 870. I hunted my 870 for 15 years before buying a semi 2 seasons ago

CaptainMusky
    Participant