Santa’s Rumor Mill MN Bass Fishing Seasons

• Bass Pundit
    8m S. of Platte/Sullivan Lakes, Minnesocold

Apparently, the push will be on this year so that in 2024 bass never closes for catch-and-release fishing in MN, and bass season for catch and keep would open along with everything else on the MN Fishing Opener.

Get ‘er done Vern!

3Rivers

Why just Bass, make it that way for all species. I’ve been saying that for 20 years.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I don’t see it happening. This has come up a couple times in recent years already and didn’t pass.

3Rivers, I believe the reason against opening up everything for catch n release is they don’t want people specifically targeting walleye, pike, muskie, etc. Could there be some incidental by-catch targeting bass? Sure could. And that’s why I don’t think it will pass.

3Rivers

3Rivers, I believe the reason against opening up everything for catch n release is they don’t want people specifically targeting walleye, pike, muskie, etc. Could there be some incidental by-catch targeting bass? Sure could. And that’s why I don’t think it will pass.

I get that, but why? Why not target all species year round? Seems to work fine in other states. Open fishing 24/7/365 to catch and release and then have specific harvest season windows.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I get that, but why? Why not target all species year round? Seems to work fine

in other states. Open fishing 24/7/365 to catch and release and then have specific harvest season windows.

I don’t have an answer for you on that one. I do know that both Michigan and Wisconsin have specific closed seasons for walleye, pike, and muskies but they both opened up a year round bass season for catch and release in the last decade. So the model is out there for MN to follow, and both Michigan and Wisconsin have similar species and ecosystems to our state.

Generally, MN is late to the game on significant changes like this.