Running Livewell

• Weekender
    Participant
    Southcentral MN

Does running your livewell(s) on auto setting put much of a drain on your battery? I get nervous leaving mine on the auto setting for any length of time simply because I don’t know how much juice it draws. I’m pretty certain my livewell pump runs off the starter battery since the pump won’t run unless the master power switch is on…. but then I’m no electrician either. grin

crossin_eyes
    Participant
    Lakeville, MN

Yes, absolutely. I use the auto option all the time when fish are on board. In fact, there are times in my local fishing league that we keep the manual on all the time. (3 hour event) We’ve never run out of juice to start the motor.

rjthehunter
    Participant
    Brainerd

I run auto 95% of the time. I’ll switch it on to manual when I put a big fish in that needs time to rest before being let go. Never had an issue with it draining the batteries.

Reef W
    Participant

I’ve ran mine on auto overnight many times (using as bait well) and it’s usually fine. One time it could just barely start the motor but I think that was probably 20 hours or more that it had been docked. Can’t imagine you’d have a problem during a normal day of fishing unless it was a real long day with a lot of electronics too.

Weekender
    Participant
    Southcentral MN

Nice! Thanks for the feedback! I’ll just put mine on auto then once I get fish in the box.

Ignorant question here… but is there any risk of burning up the pump if left on while making long runs from one spot to another? Or does it continue to pull in water even on plane?

gimruis
    Participant
    Plymouth, MN

Or does it continue to pull in water even on plane?

Mine doesn’t pull in water while I’m on plane. I wondered if it did, so I had someone check while I was driving once. No water coming in.

It may be dependent on how fast you are going. I was going about 25-30 mph.

John Rasmussen
    Participant
    Blaine