Run over any nets lately?

• Paul Berger

Friend and I were up to the cabin the weekend of oct 27-30th. Chasing ducks, grouse, and walleyes. Did okay. Closed the cabin down. Sunday morning rolled into the cut foot launch and the motor snagged a net. What a mess. Found out this region has quite a history of neglect. I purchased a government lease here this past year and experienced some very interesting practices being deployed. I’ve been visiting the Lake Winnie area for 10 years now. Now I own. Anyone else run into situations like this on bowstring / ball club / Winnie / leech? Similar? First time poster longtime visitor…

Paul Berger

I don’t mean to be a negative Nellie on this forum for my first post. Just trying to see if this is common practice for the region. I do plan on giving updates for the Lake Winnie and Cut Foot Sioux Lake area in upcoming future. I see the last post for Winnie is may.

?????

Normally the nets are marked well but ocasionally they are not. We have gotten tangled up in them twice on Leech and not on purpose as it is alot of work to get out of. Some nets could be anyone neting whitefish as well so you never know whom they blong to.

Paul Berger

This one had a lot of good fish in it. Very small white buoys. 50 yards long. Working to untangle the prop we could see it had been there awhile. 2-3 days. The fish were falling apart. No white fish either. Called the local CO. No response. Fishing was good for us. Hard time getting slot fish, but, the action was good and plenty of variety.

?????