River Jigging – does color matter?

• PikeFishman
    St. Paul, MN

I’ll start his by saying I am very new to river fishing. I’ve been fishing from shore quite a bit this year (P2) and have had some success. However, I haven’t noticed any patterns with regards to colors when it comes to live bait jigging or jigging with plastics or blade baits. So my question to the more experienced river rats is: does color matter and if so is there a “recipe” for choosing the right color based upon conditions?

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

When conditions are good and the fish are snapping at anything – no, put a dog turd on a hook and your good to go. The details come into play when things are at its worse. Cold front, unstable weather, dirty water all play into it. If you have the time, go back through the articles forum and look at the crankbait seminar I did. Its not “plastics”, but the same principals apply. I start with mid-range colors and go brighter or darker depending how the fish relate. Time after time in crappy conditions i have seen fish “nipping” at one color and subtle color change makes the difference where they EAT IT.

Gregg Pfeifer
    Fort Atkinson, WI

Color doesn’t matter but if you’re jigging for walleyes I’d use anything with orange in it. wink

Unfortunately I’ve tried to buy orange/chartreuse Fin-Tech Knuckleball jigs since last fall and it’s the only color that’s been sold out.

big_g
    Isle, MN

orange or white for me.

big_g
    Isle, MN

sometimes green works…. other times purple….

big_g
    Isle, MN

black or gold too….. and chartruese is good too…..

big_g
    Isle, MN

I’d say anything but brown…. grin

nord

Sometimes yes, sometimes no. This last WED. at RW it was yes. My partner had caught 7 all on purple. I finally switched over to a purple ring worm and caught 5 in a row. Go figure!!

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River