Ethics of hunting coyotes with hounds

• farmboy1
    Participant
    Mantorville, MN

As I was out pheasant hunting last week, I saw a group of people huning coyotes with hounds. I do not have a problem with this, except for the fact that they release their dogs on one section, let the dogs chase over posted land, agricultural land, and anywhere they want to go. Then in most situations, set up on sides of a section and fire from roadways (or ditches) at an animal. If they kill it, they then trespass on whoevers land they killed it on to retrieve the animal.

I understand that everything they do falls into the grey area of the laws. You can legally enter land to retrieve game, or to retrieve a dog, and they are not technically hunting areas wihtout permission because they are in public areas (roads/ditches). Now I am not a rocket scientist, but is there any way that this is ethical?

Am I wrong on my feelings for this? I think people allow it to happen because it is simply a stupid “coyote” and they do not garnish much respect, but I just don’t get it.

qdm4life
    Participant
    Albertville, MN

Imo the question of ethics doesnt lie in the sport per say but rather the group of hooligans you encountered. Ive heard the same about guys up in the big woods hunting cats the same way. Some peoples idiocy knows no boundrys.

tapout
    Participant

ONce u release hounds u cant always catch em before they cross sections when we used to hunt hounds we useally had land permission for miles and miles in every direction bit once in a while they would get on property that we didnt but normally thats how we gained permission drive up knock on the door and ask em. When talking coyote they 9 times out of ten said killem all. Farmers hate em cause mosr have losr calvs to em once or twice. I guess if I owned land even being a yote hunter and someone ran dogs over it I wouldnt mind. But thats just me

caincando1
    Participant
    Dodge Center, MN/Alma,WI