Pellet Grills

• cougareye
    Participant
    Hudson, WI

I’m in need of a new grill. My weber finally went out on me after 18 years. I was all set to get another Weber gas grill when I ran into the pellet grills at FF and Cabelas. I have no experience with the pellet grills made by Traeger and Cabelas private label, what can you guys tell me about them?

We do a fair amount of impromptu grilling. Come home from work, fire up the weber gas grill, cook burgers, brats, steaks, whatever. Can a pellet grill do this or are these geared toward the longer more planned out cooking session? I like the fact that you can pre-load with wood pellets and like the idea of a wood smoked cooking instrument.

Pros and Cons on pellet grills? Does it make more sense to have the main weber gas grill and a smaller pellet grill for when I want to do so?

TIA!

SuperDave1959
    Participant
    Harrisville, UT

A pellet grill will do everything a propane grill will do and then some. Not only will you get wood flavor but you have digital temperature control.

Iowaboy1
    Participant

I was in the same place as you a little over a year ago.
    after looking at traegers,my personal thought was that they are tinny for what they cost so I started looking around at pellet grills in that price range or less.

I settled on Green Mountain Grills Daniel Boone model,it was a little over fifty pounds heavier than a comparable traeger and a couple of hundred bucks less money.
    couldnt be happier with it ! I have run over six hundred pounds of pellets through it now smoking briskets,bologna,summer sausage,sticks and a couple of turkeys.

I have grilled many many pounds of burgers,steaks,etc. on it as well as baking pies,cakes,and specialty dishes and it has never once let me down.
    pellet grills are the cats meow for backing a pizza on as well !