WHITE BASS

• TBASS
    Participant
    ROCKFORD,ILL

HELLO, ALL. I’M NEW TO THE WEB SITE. MOST OF MY FISHING TAKES PLACE ON POOL 13. I REALLY LIKE TO FISH 9 AND 10 THE MOST. I WAS UP ON 9 TWO WEEKS AGO PRACTICING FOR A BASS TOURNAMENT AND GOT INTO SOME WHITE BASS. I WAS CURIOUS AS TO THE SIZE LIMITS ON WHITE BASS. ALSO, HOW DO THEY TASTE? WE CAUGHT ABOUT 25 FISH BETWEEN US. SOME WERE 12 TO 13 INCHES. WE THREW ALL OF THEM BACK. I’M GOING CAMPING AT WYALUSING ON THE 5TH THROUGH THE 8TH AND WOULD LIKE TO KEEP A FEW THEN TO EAT. THANKS. TBASS

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Hey TBASS

Whitebass run from wee-small to around 17″ – 18″ on most pools. Anything over 16″ should be considered a good sized white bass. Guys up here on pool 4 go nutz over these things and claim they’re very good eating. Extra care must be taken to slice off all the red/dark meat that is on the fillets as this meat is of a very strong flavor. But once that’s accomplished, this fish is good table fare and a very good fighter.

TBASS
    Participant
    ROCKFORD,ILL

JAMES, THANKS FOR YOUR INPUT. I WILL BE LEAVING THURSDAY NIGHT FOR WYALUSING. SHOULD GET A GOOD JUMP ON THE WHITES FRIDAY MORNING. DO YOU THINK THAT THE WHITE BASS WILL STILL BE HOLDING IN THE SAME AREA? I WILL LET YOU KNOW HOW I DO. THANKS AGAIN, TBASS

LeoKam
    Participant
    Camp Lacupolis, MN

I dont know where Wyalusing is, but if its towards the southern end of Lake Pepin, work the wingdams at Reads Landing and by Wabasha with poppers and prop baits. More fun then using jigs with live bait, crankbaits, etc., and your not getting messed up with all the boaters as if you stay on the lake.

bill_cadwell
    Participant
    Rochester, Minnesota

Hey Leo, are the white bass still thick in the end of the lake like they are in Aug. and early Sept.? Thanks, Bill

LeoKam
    Participant
    Camp Lacupolis, MN