Norsk 15AH vs. 7.5AH for a Vexilar Fl-20

• Steven Krapfl
    Participant
    Springville, Iowa

I am old school and run a Vexilar FL-20 that has a 10 pound battery that has been in the thing since i bought it. i was wondering if anyone out there was running a mechanical flasher with the Norsk battery, and if so, what battery would be best for the unit? I was wondering about charge times, and how long either battery would run the flasher for. Any recommendations or information would be appreciated, thanks!

Steve

MX1825
    Participant

I don’t run a Norsk but I run a Vex fl28 on a Vexilar lithium. Have fished 2 long days between charges.

Coletrain27
    Participant

I have a flx28 with a amped outdoors 12ah battery. I can fish 3 full days without charging. I’ve never tried going longer than that before charging

Greenhorn
    Participant
    Bismarck, ND

My Marcum Brute can run my LX-5 for over two days. I haven’t taken it to its limit yet, so not sure how long it will go on one charge.

tswoboda
    Participant

Not a Norsk but I have cheap 8ah LiFePO4 straight from China and they run my FL12 and FL20 for somewhere between 30 and 36 hours. I’ve used them on 3 day winter camping trips with no issues.

I’d go for the 7.5ah unless you need 4+ full days between charges.

al-wichman
    Participant
    SE Wisconsin

I run the same as Coletrain and have the same results. I regret not switching earlier to lithium.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

I am old school and run a Vexilar FL-20 that has a 10 pound battery that has been in the thing since i bought it. i was wondering if anyone out there was running a mechanical flasher with the Norsk battery, and if so, what battery would be best for the unit? I was wondering about charge times, and how long either battery would run the flasher for. Any recommendations or information would be appreciated, thanks!

Steve