No-till Drill

• riverrookie
    Participant
    Kasson, MN

6′ Ferminator or 5′ Genesis G3?

Anyone have personal experience with either one of these? Looking to buy 3pt model for food plots and upland native plantings.

Thanks, Jason

haleysgold
    Participant
    SE MN

The local Pheasants Forever chapter bought an expensive Brillion seeder.
    I can’t say I was impressed. It’s really heavy. Needs a pretty good sized tractor to lift it. I decided to stick with my old grain drill.
    No even sure if anyone has actually used it in the couple years since they got it.
    No experience with the models you are looking at though.

deertracker
    Participant

I have no knowledge on them, but I’ve wanted to get one really bad. Do you follow Growing Deer TV on YouTube? He uses a Genesis.
    DT

TheCrappieFisherman
    Participant
    West Metro

IF you are set on buying ignore- like above, you could check with your local SWCD (Soil & Water Conservation District) or PF chapter to see if they rent one. Our local swcd has a 10′ no till drill with different seed boxes for CRP, alfalfa, legumes etc. It’s purpose is for larger plantings, like CRP and cover crops, can work for bigger more open food plots- that’s not typical I realize. Just a thought.

tornadochaser
    Participant

No experience with the two models you listed, but I liked the Land Pride 6′ 3point with grass seed box that we borrowed from a neighbor to re-seed some waterways. Put our food plot in with the renter’s 20′ john deer 750 no till. Went pretty quick with a drill that big. mrgreen

TheFamousGrouse
    Participant
    St. Paul, MN

Danger, shameless plug ahead.

There will be all kinds of dealers (including Midwest Monster Whitetail Products!) at the MN Deer & Turkey Expo in March out at Canterbury Park. Good chance to check out a lot of equipment, have to check the show website for specific brands.