My First Trout!

• Sharon
    SE Metro

Caught my first brown trout today and we successfully avoided the rain! 😎🎣 I kinda thought I was snagged on another stick – until the stick fought back! 😅 I have limited experience fishing rivers and there’s a bit more to it than the lakes I’m used to. Especially when I’m easily distracted by the ducks, birds, and bugs surrounding me!

Pics aren’t loading, so duplicates will probably appear soon LOL 😅

WishIwasWiser

And now you’re hooked!

And browns are known to lay on the bottom when hooked. Especially the big ones!

Sharon
    SE Metro

Trying again! 📸 🤞🏻

Attachments:
    1. Img-1235.jpg

2. Img-1234.jpg

Steve Root
    South St. Paul, MN

No pictures, it’s just a fish story whistling

Maybe your Dad can help you mrgreen

SR

Sharon
    SE Metro

No pictures, it’s just a fish story

LOL I got it working! 😂😂👍🏻👍🏻

fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.

I use to do a fair amount of Trout fishing early in the season before other seasons opened. Use to fish the whitewater and root rivers a fair amount. Its been about 10 years since the last time I made a trip to the area. Its a slightly longer drive from here in St. cloud than it use to be when I lived in the South Metro. Every spring I tell myself I need to make the trip there for a weekend. Trout are a fun good fighting fish on Light fishing rods. I use to follow the stocking release dates and always plan a trip a few days after they released the rainbow trout. Those things are crazy aggressive and often get caught out rather fast after they are released. Being that I have not followed the sport in awhile I’m not sure how much they are still even stocking the rivers in the area. They use to have several hatcheries in southeastern minnesota. I believe they had one in Lanesboro and another in Altura. They use to be open to the public and were fun to stop at and view.

fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.