My first smoker

• ssaamm
    Pequot Lakes

Just bought a Masterbuilt MES 130 S electric smoker. I’m a rookie. I’m seasoning it right now. Looking forward to giving it a go. Ive watched a few YouTube videos. 3-2-1 recipe for ribs, smoked jalapeño bacon Mac and cheese, brisket,etc. Any tips for a green horn? Easy meats to start with? Do’s and don’t’s. Thanks. I feel more manly by just owning one.

gregory
    Red wing,mn

Chicken and pork are my favorite to to smoke. Keep it simple and don’t over think it! Chicken I just throw on with a light seasoning, the pork I use a marinade with it.

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

I had the privilege to meet and hang out with Moe Cason before I knew who he was. Super nice guy and very informative. From Moe I learned consistency and seasoning for different meats. I was randomly experimenting when I first started. Probably the biggest thing I learned was different sodas to use with rendering. Amazing what is in diet sodas that help break down meats

deertracker

I believe I have the same one. If you do chicken, finish it in the oven. It doesn’t get hot enough to crisp the skin.
    DT

crappie55369
    Mound, MN

Rely on internal temp and feel to tell you the meat is done not time. Every piece of meat is different.

Don’t soak your chips

Start with a pork shoulder. Very forgiving

Understand meat has a stall point where thr internal temp won’t rise for a while. Its usually around 152-160 area. I’m talking hours in some cases. This is normal. Internet search for methods of dealing with this.

Be prepared for the meat to take longer than you think. Not saying it will but you never know.

Get a good thermometer. I have a smoke 2 and a thermapen. I recommend both

I started with a masterbuilt electric. Switched to using webers with charcoal and wood. Love cooking on a charcoal weber

Some very good YouTube channels out there and a few forums and Facebook groups

Most of all have fun. It can become an obsession

ssaamm