Muskies in the Rum River?

• gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I’ve been fishing the Rum River for 20 years mostly targeting smallmouth bass. I’ve never caught or seen a muskie in it. There are signs posted by the canoe accesses that do indicate “Muskellunge in these waters.” I have heard of two caught during this span. One was 54 inches and super skinny caught about 7 years ago near the old dam by Milaca. The other was further south near the confluence of the Mississippi River in Anoka, not as big (about 40 inches) but looked pretty healthy. I realize that it flows out of Mille Lacs so its definitely possible for one to end up there, but how likely would you say it is? Just asking because someone is claiming they see them in there regularly and I don’t believe it.

Youbetcha
    Anoka County

I am willing to bet there is a pretty small population in it. I doubt its worth spending a bunch of time on but you never know.

sliderfishn
    Blaine, MN

While they are there, I do not believe that the numbers are substantial.
    I have seen one in all the years that I spent on that river. It was in the Princeton area. I spend more time closer to Anoka to St Francis.

grubson
    Harris, Somewhere in VNP

They are there in limited numbers. I’ve never seen an adult fish caught, but I know a guy who lives on the river who has caught a couple.
    About twenty years ago we found a small stream flowing into the river. It was early spring and we found multiple large muskie way up in the creek spawning.
    We told the story to our science teacher and he laughed it off as a tall tale. Well we went back a couple weeks later with a net and caught a fingerling musky to prove what we found. He was in disbelief when we brought him a frozen 6″ musky. I realize it wasn’t legal but we were 10 years old and didn’t have a care in the world.
    As far as targeting them specifically I think you’ll fish a long time before catching one but between musky and large pike it may be a fun adventure.