Late Ice-Out Opener Advice

• Rainylakefisher

I’m heading up to Trapper’s Landing Resort on the south shore with my son and daughter. Anyone willing to share opinions on how the late ice-out might determine the best starting areas to explore for walleye. I know Big Stony and Little Stony Points are popular spring destinations, but I am thinking that shallower water & more protected bays might be the target given the ice just went out on Tuesday. I have no experience with Headquarters Bay, but it looks interesting with the narrows and shallower water. Pelican Island has lots of shallow water, but would be tough in a heavy wind. Any Leech Lake veterans willing to share ideas or GENERAL areas to target?

BigWerm
    SW Metro

I haven’t fished Leech on opener enough to know how a late spring impacts it, but my guess would be not much. They should be shallow and hungry on wind blown rocky shorelines. There’s usually masses of people on the places you mentioned, along with Annex, Headquarter Bay, Bear Island and Boy Bay. Generally I stay away from them, and do alright finding the right structure. Once you find a few, you should be able to replicate it elsewhere on the lake. Pitching or dragging jigs away from the boat is key when fishing shallow imo.

dhpricco
    Twin Cities, MN

I will be on complete opposite end of the lake staying at Steamboat bay resort. Looks like the wind will be coming out of the west friday/saturday /sunday. Looking forward to it and hoping we can have some success. Good luck and will be following this thread for others info and will share any feedback from how our weekend goes.

BigWerm
    SW Metro

Good luck! My buddy and I are taking our boys (ages 4 & 5) out for their first opener. I’ll try and post a report tomorrow or Monday.

Deuces

Trust your electronics. See fish, fish fish. Cadence and color can be important when neutral, snapping can turn lookers into biters.

BigWerm
    SW Metro