How many tip ups

• Richard V.
    Participant
    Somewhere over the rainbow

How many tip ups are you allowed to fish at a time in the following states?
    Wisconsin
    Minnesota
    Iowa
    Nebraska
    South Dakota
    North Dakota

The reason I ask, is that I want to set some of them up for pike. We don’t have any here in the land of OZ but I do make trips up north from time to time. I am new to using tip ups also and have been asking Bret Clark a lot of questions but thought this question would be better asked of everyone since the geography is covers several states.

Another question how many is too many tip ups?

jhalfen
    Participant

3 lines total here in WI.

buck-slayer
    Participant

N and S Dakota is 4 lines

Brian Robinson
    Participant
    central Neb

I believe you can have 5 lines in combination in NE. Might see if I can find a book just to make sure.

buck-slayer
    Participant

As far as how many? Its fun to have alot out but sucks when its time to pick up.

Ben Garver
    Participant
    Hickman, Nebraska

5 lines in Nebraska.

rkd-jim
    Participant
    Fountain City, WI.

Quote:

2 Here in MN..

Check into the rules in MN as far as types of hooks that can be used. From what I understand if you use a treble hook you have to have a spinner blade within a few inches of it or it is considered 3 lines . So if you use 2 tip-ups with treble hooks without the spinner blade you can be fined for 6 lines.

huntfishhastings
    Participant
    Hastings, MN

Dont quote me on this but I think in MN if your using a treble on a tip up it has to be part of a lure, jigging rap, spoon, etc. Ive used the spoons with a dropper line but always just a single hook. Sounds like MN needs to get with the times on this issue. Ice fishing in WI is great 2 rod lines in the house and a tip-up outside the house. 5 in NE wow better have them far apart or have a watchfull eye or your going to have one hell of a mess.

big_g
    Participant
    Isle, MN