What auger would you buy?

• joe_the_fisher
    Wisconsin Dells WI

If you could have any auger out there what would it be and why? Thanks!

Ray Gylsen
    Glenwood,Mn

I would buy the strikemaster four stroke 8″. Quite running, no mixing of oil, and a reliable Honda engine.

bronzbak
    Long way from home

Joe, there is NO comparison between the Nils Master and any other. All these guys talking jiffy, Eskimo, or strike master have not run a nils. It’s simply the best there is with the tanaka power head . I have a strike master gasser. If I were to dver buy another gasser it would without question be a nils. I run a 6″ and 8″ nils on my cordless set ups. I have a 18v dewalt on the 6″ and a 36v Bosch on the 8″. I have no need for a gas auger unless on a trip where I can’t charge batteries overnight.

Every single person I know who has run a nils likes it and would not switch back!

Ray Gylsen
    Glenwood,Mn

you must not have alot of ice were you live, we have measured over 44″ and probably more since the the high today was ten below.

BBKK
    IA

Quote:

you must not have alot of ice were you live, we have measured over 44″ and probably more since the the high today was ten below.

44″ of ice (no snow) and -10 high = about 0.1″ of ice made in 24 hours.

BBKK
    IA

Money no object? Nils and a tanaka, plus 6 spare nils heads for the dirty ice here.

bronzbak
    Long way from home

Same head on my 6″ for 3 years. Can’t even imagine how many thousands of holes I’ve cut. Fish the Mississippi, Wisconsin river, Pete, castlerock, and Madison chain. What’s your point? I do carry a spare head as I did carry spare lazer blades. I guess I’m smart enough to not drill into sand or mud. Some guys can’t figure that out though.

Ray Gylsen
    Glenwood,Mn

I have not used a Nils Master because my Strike Master that I’ve had for 15 years hasn’t died on me yet and has not let me down. I would consider one when that time comes though.

bronzbak
    Long way from home