How much does Med Flight cost

• joe_the_fisher
    Participant
    Wisconsin Dells WI

Wondering how much my bill will be from the ride I got a week and a half ago… some people have told me it’s $50k.

ClownColor
    Inactive
    The Back 40

No, not even close.

Luckily everyone needs insurance so the most you’ll pay is your max out of pocket expense. Call your insurance company and they’ll have a better answer than you’ll get from friends and family.

I once did medevac’s and if we got $50k per flight we’d be some rich folks! LOL. We once had the army fly a c130 to a small island 8 hrs from Hawaii just to pick up one guy. After his stop in Hono, he needed another flight back to Green Bay WI. You’ll get some bills but not that much.

Justin riegel
    Participant

I work in insurance and typically they run from 10k to 30k

ClownColor
    Inactive
    The Back 40

I work in insurance and typically they run from 10k to 30k

I’m sure you are spot on…except his question was how much his bill will be, not what they charge insurance.

Snake ii’s
    Participant

I think mine was ~25k a few years back.

Justin riegel
    Participant

yea your right, depends on your insurnace plan and if you have an out of pocket max

mxskeeter
    Participant
    SW Wisconsin

2 of my friends got Med flights. 1 last summer and 1 about 5 years ago. Both told me their bills were around $50,000. Now what their insurance paid I can’t tell you. The Med Flight last summer was a 20 minute flight each way. Bill was $51,000. It is my next door neighbor that was buried in a trench.

bzzsaw
    Participant
    Hudson, Wi

My wife had a helicopter ride from Cumberland, Wi to Minneapolis about 12 years ago and the bill for the flight was somewhere between 15 and 20K. Thank god for insurance.

kabefisherman11
    Participant

It’s based on how far/ long the flight was. I’ve heard up to 50k but I’ve also heard as little as 5k depending on the circumstances.

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale