Rear Window Decal Legality

• Pete Bauer
    Participant
    Stillwater, MN

On my way home tonight from checking the ice out status on a couple fishing spots I got pulled over for having a pheasant decal in the rear window of my truck, Is this illegal?
    I was pulled over in Wisconsin and am from Minnesota but I cannot find anything on the internet regarding the legality of rear window decals. On the warning I received it says, “Rear Window Unauthorized Sign”.

Anyone have any additional information? I’ve been driving around for the last 2 years without any problem. I attached a picture of the decal, keep in mind from the inside you cannot even tell it’s on the window.

Thanks,
    Pete

fish2live
    Participant
    hampton,mn

no it is not illegal because in a pickup you do not need to see through the rear window like a car.

johnie1610
    Participant
    Eau Claire, WI

in wisconsin it is illegal to have anything obstructing the drivers view including decals. Most officers dont sweat the little stuff some follow the law to a T. Technically you cannot have the little tree air freshners hanging from your rear view mirror.

Prestige
    Participant
    Elgin, MN

I would ignore it. I had a checkered flag in my back window of a past truck back in high school and got pulled over. The cop told me it was illegal along with my smaller steering wheel. I told him it was not and he said he would get back to me. Never did. He was just harassing me. He was a real jerk anyway.

Richard V.
    Participant
    Somewhere over the rainbow

He was just in a bad mood someone must have forgot to put a hole in his doughnut.

Stop by your local Sheriffs office or Highway Patrol office and ask them to look at it. Looks good to me…

jshanks
    Participant

Thats one of the most rediculous things I have ever heard. So when I haul something in the bed of my truck it can’t stick up past the bottom of my rear window? I’m glad they didn’t see me yesterday. Pheasent decal looks great!