Whoo hoo..passed my welding tests

• amwatson
    Holmen,WI

At my new job (3 months) as a welder, I had to learn some different welding skills. Before coming here, I haven’t welded in 10 years. Anyway, in order to make a higher pay grade, I had to pass 4 tests.
    The first was the 3G (vertical up) with hardwire, second was the 3G flux core with 75/25 gas, third is a air arc gouging, and the final is a weld symbols test.
    I had never welded vertical up before and was a little intimidated at first. But, suprisingly I found it really easy once you find the right settings. For the test we had certain parameters as far as voltage and wire speed.
    I got the results back this morning that I had passed both the welding tests and I will be testing out on the air arc and weld symbols in the morning
    Also since I passed the flux core test, I am now certified to weld for the MN DOT projects we work on. They are very stringent with their standards and rightfully so since the parts are for bridge construction.

Once I get tomorrow’s tests done, I will get the $5/hour raise and will be making more per hour than any job I have previously had. The money will make working 3rd shift a little less painful

Brian Hoffies
    Land of 10,000 taxes, potholes & the politically correct.

yellowjacket
    Byron, MN

That’s RIGHT ON AM!!!

As a welding instructor, I still don’t know how to do a solid vertical weld….so congrats

big_g
    Isle, MN

Way to go Wats

big G

ederd
    Northeast Iowa, Randalia

Congrats Mike, great job in passing them all!!!!!

ED

amwatson
    Holmen,WI

Quote:

I still don’t know how to do a solid vertical weld

I practiced for 1 hour each night for about 3 weeks. Once I got the technique down, then it was a matter of getting a nice tight,solid bead all the way up. The first few were horrendous