Diabetes

• live2fishmillelacs
    Participant
    Blaine, MN

I am new to diabetes,,, what do people do to maintain there numbers when they are doing an 8 hour tournament? Just looking for some tips and tricks.I do have to do insulin.

grumpy
    Participant
    Iowa, Clinton

I think the BEST advice WOULD come from your DOCTOR!

live2fishmillelacs
    Participant
    Blaine, MN

what I am thinking and how it is perceived is often not what I mean. I should have said, what are some easy things that are keep on the boat for snacking and eating. I am staying very close to the Doctor and check in with him before doing anything. Always good advise.

tvfishermn
    Participant

My Dr. had me take diabetes education classes. They were taught by RNs and Nutrionists. It really helped me understand how diet, medication and lifestyle affect your blood sugar levels. I often fish long days. I bring some fresh fruit, cheese and a sandwich. You have to watch your carbs. Make sure you do not end up with no food in the boat if your sugar gets low.

Rodney Bondele

live2fishmillelacs
    Participant
    Blaine, MN

Thank you for registering, mjollymore

Thank you, I am now registered.

live2fishmillelacs
    Participant
    Blaine, MN

Dr does have me set up for classes. I am very excited to start doing tournament fishing this year and not getting “fuzzy” is a very big concern. Fruit, cheese and sandwiches..awesome, thank you

mike ice
    Participant

orange juice is a good quick picker upper. Snickers. These would be for if your sugars get to low. like the others have said watch your carbs. When you start reading food labels you’ll be suprised at what amount of carbs are in different foods.
    You’ve probably heard it already but diet and exercise can help a lot depending on what kind of diabetes. When my uncle was very ill in the hospital his insulin dose was cut in half because of all the weight he lost. He trys very hard to keep that weight off now, its a challenge.