100% Commission

• CornHunka
    Participant

I’m thinking of getting into sales. I’ve always worked for someone else with a steady paycheck. I’d like to hear some of the pitfalls and rewards of taking a sales job where it’s 100% commission.

igotone
    Participant

might work 4 you

It would not work for me – I can’t sell ICE in Florida

steveo
    Participant
    W Central Sconnie

I’d consider a job with a base salary and commission. Straight commission can be lucrative but there might be months where you sell very little. Bills don’t stop because you have a bad month

big_g
    Participant
    Isle, MN

So much depends on product and what kind of demand. Is it a weekly demand item, or once or twice in a lifetime ? Will 1 sale net you $5 or $5000 ? Too many variables, but if you have the drive and clients available, working for yourself, sure would be nice to write your own paycheck

Randy Wieland
    Participant
    Lebanon. WI

I’m a General Contractor and guide in a spare time. I think the biggest adjustment is understanding how well you can budget money. The old analogy of feast or famine is usually very true.
    Most of my neighbors are manufacture reps and are 100% commission based sales. The largest fluctuation I see in all of our incomes is directly tied into the types of products or services sold. Luxury items are the first things to be cut back upon when the economy takes a dump or when people have a fear of the future of their jobs. Products or services that are tied directly to necessity items will generally have a steady stream of revenue, but often pays less.