Forward thinking on Canada

• bigpike

I’ve been thinking about a possible future border opening and what it might look like. Based on the latest news there is a vaccine that is 90% effective another 70% effective.
    Normally vaccines take 10 years of testing to get approval. This vaccine is fast tracked in a year for obvious reasons.
    My question is would you take the vaccine at risk if that was what it took to fish in Canada next summer.
    I have no knowledge of the situation but my guess is this will be the situation.

Proof of vaccine to get in
    The question: is it worth the risk or do you hang back for another year and watch it play out from a distance.

Talked with my friend in Ontario last week and he was awfully lonely and missed his American guests. Canada is much more extreme on the lockdown than the states

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

I think I would take the vaccine if it was available to me to get into Canada next summer. But I doubt it will be given to us common folk by then. First year in several that we could not go and I am still bummed out over it. bawling

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

The one that came out yesterday by Astazeneca will probably be one of the more common vaccines that people receive because its dirt cheap, it doesn’t require massive cold storage, and its only one dose.

The ones from Pfizer and Moderna require two doses, super cold storage, and cost about $25 per dosage.

I’ll be taking whichever one they offer me first.

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

Nope, i’ll take a wait and see approach. This is worth billions and I don’t trust the fast tracking. Hopefully i’m wrong but am willing to wait.

That said, if I could get a remote crossing permit just to fish the Canadian side of Rainy without going to a lodge I would.

Ripjiggen

Is this one of those controversial topics hidden with a Canada crossing topic. lol

fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.

I’ve said I will take the Vaccine for 1 of 3 reasons.