Fishing with 3 lines

• Brandon Meyers
    Eau Claire, WI

I’ve been fishing pool 4 for quite a few years now and if trolling I typically run 3 lines per person if on the WI side and 2 if on the MN side. Last Thursday and today I was stopped by 2 people saying I’m fishing with 2 to many lines. WI side just north of the pickle factory – my brother and myself – 3 boards per side. Has something changed down here? Guy today was polite guy on Thursday was a prick.

Kevin

They must be ignorant of the laws, as you stated you can legally use 3 lines on Wisconsin side and 2 on Minnesota side. The only thing that is relatively new on the Mississippi border waters is the walleye/sauger limit is now 4 min 15″(walleye) with 1 walleye/sauger over 20.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

What Kevin said. Follow the rules of the state your fishing in.

Brandon Meyers
    Eau Claire, WI

Yeah any one else getting enlightened by a guy in a crestliner with down riggers? Literally cut us off to yell and argue. Crazy the nerve of some people.

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

Yeah any one else getting enlightened by a guy in a crestliner with down riggers? Literally cut us off to yell and argue. Crazy the nerve of some people.

I haven’t fished that spot much recently. There are some of the same 4/5 boats working it daily as noted by a friend who does work in the marina there. Your harassers may have been one of the regulars.

Everyone seems to want to cut people off in that community spot. There’s a fairly tight offshore break there that everyone tries to straddle trolling different directions at different speeds using different tactics all cutting extremely close to one another until a couple boats come spot lock the break after seeing people catch fish there on passes.

pass0047
    Pool4

Does it matter if you are mn resident. If so do u need a Wisconsin license to fish 3 lines? Thanks

Brandon Meyers
    Eau Claire, WI

No it does not matter.